Kpayn. I know this is a verrry late post, but I saw all these photos on my phone that I can’t help not to blog about it. Whoever coined the words “better late than never” is a genius!

Please don’t confuse this with our airing schedule, I just have a lot of personal backlogs I’m trying to make up for. This episode aired in February pa! Lol

Here’s a side story you need to know about the interview with Kenneth. We have been trying to book him for ever since I can remember, I think I was still this newbie researcher in Powerhouse two years ago and our host was still Tita Mel. I totally gave up on this idea but after two years, he finally said “Yes!” How very “Olivia please say “Yes”” is this, please tell me now? Hahaha

So even if I pulled a “shoot-write-edit” of this episode in a total of five days, this episode is like two years in the making! Haha!

Touchdown Cebu!

cebu

danggit

I want some danggiiiit!

magellan's cross

My Cebu shoot was a lot of firsts for me. It was my first time in Cebu, first time meeting Kenneth Cobonpue (our guest), first time to shoot out of town (via plane) and first time to shoot with only few people, including our host!

DAY 1: MEETING THE KENNETH COBONPUE

We arrived at Mactan International Airport at around 4am and the ever reliable Kuya Wenggie (he’s been the go to driver whenever GMA goes to Cebu for 10 years, I think, so baby pa ko nun! Haha!) fetched us and we went directly to the hotel to take a nap before the roll on 10am.

We’re up and about by 7am and we had another quick breakfast and a fast trip to GMA Cebu to get some lights.

IMG_1613

GMA Cebu!

Then we went straight to Kenneth Cobonpue’s house.

IMG_1625

If this is not beautiful then I don’t know what is.

IMG_1622

The stairs was our favorite part of the house!

IMG_1626

He calls this the little people. 🙂

It was the most beautiful house I’ve ever seen! Mean, this is saying a lot because I’ve seen a lot of houses already, what with my 2 year stay at Powerhouse (my mother show). I really, really wish I live here! It was airy, minimalist, has this breathtaking view of Cebu and looks like it has been torn off a page of celebrity living with all his furniture.

IMG_1616

The cutiepatootie schnauzer who enjoys this view everyday. 🙂

They don’t need AC because the house is located on a hill so the air just pass through and they made the architecture that way, I don’t know, maybe to save up on electric bills or be environment-friendly or for the aesthetics. Any way, it works!

IMG_1594

KC (that’s how people calls him there) is one of the guests I’ve had on the show I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. With the things he’s done who wouldn’t be WOWed with it, right?

Below are some behind the scene photos. 🙂

IMG_1586

during the house tour

IMG_1588

with our host Ms. Kara David and our crew, Kuya Billy and Kuyang. 🙂

IMG_1601

le artist at work

After the interview and tour, we went straight to his factory: WHERE THE MAGIC HAPPENS. Did you know that all the pieces of furniture are made there? He wants it to be all Filipino-made that everything must be made here. And you need to wait for at least a month to three before you can get them because most, if not all of them are handmade.

Then we went to another guest’s house for the interview, former governor of Cebu, Gwendolyn Garcia. It’s airing soon so watch out for it! 🙂

So after that hectic schedule of interviews and tours, we finally got to chill a bit at night and we had lechon! Rico’s was yummmmy, pucha, nakakagutom talaga. I never liked lechon, until I had Rico’s! So if ever you get to go to Cebu,  go on an empty stomach, Cebu will make you full! 😉

DAY TWO: GETTING TO KNOW CEBU!

The second day was all about taking detalye shots and establishing shots and all the needed shots for the episode. We went back to KC’s house and went to his ancestral house.

Forgot to take a shot of their old house, but if  you watched the episode, you knew what it looked like!

IMG_1630

This was part of his charity: they converted their ancestral house into an office slash factory where out of school youth can train for livelihood projects. This is one of those things they do for a project I forgot what was it. haha!

Then Kuya Wenggie went tourist guide on us and took us here:

IMG_1636

AA BBQ! Where all the good stuff are served.

IMG_1634

My meal, haha! Halfway through na tong pic na to, kalat kalat na, lol.

Then I had the chance to visit Magellan’s Cross and even had a sinulog done for me at Php50!

IMG_1642

IMG_1645

Magellan’s Cross is still a work in progress after that shattering earthquake that happened last year.

IMG_1650

And then I was able to squeeze in some five minutes of my time for this girl right here. As in literal na five minutes!  Rachel is my friend back in high school who is now residing in Cebu, ugh, I’m so jealous and I’m itching to come back because I can’t wait to be wowed with it again! I might use my free Air Asia ticket to meet her! And see Cebu not for work but for pleasure na talaga! Waaaaah! Or maybe come back to Thailand? Or Hong Kong? Aaaah. So many places to see, too little money!

IMG_1657

Bye Cebu!

IMG_1670

Touchdown Manila! That was a fast flight! Fifteen minutes early, boo yeah!

IMG_1677

And went home to my little niece who wants this Valentine’s gift the crew gave me.

Fuuun two days indeed-y!

